Happiness…what!

Standard

Wikipedia defines happiness as ”

”Happiness, gladness or joy is a mental or emotional state of well-being defined by positive or pleasant emotions ranging from contentment to intense joy. A variety of biological, psychological, religious and philosophical approaches have striven to define happiness and identify its sources.”

Then there are numerous quotes…

Image result for happiness

Image result for happiness

Image result for happiness

This and many more such quotes try and give us many ways to find happiness.

Is it money, love, health or life…that makes the world go around? I have seen poor people happy and unmarried people having a great time. Or is it the absence of these that makes us unhappy?

Did you know that every living creature works on the ”pleasure principle”? that means our actions are guided by what gives us happiness. Our happiness is generally a reaction to an action. For eg. a hungry man is happy when he gets food, you buy a great dress and you are happy, a nice movie gives us happiness. But these are transitory situations. Won’t it be great if we could be happy all the time without these external cues.

But I for one, am trying to find happiness within myself. It is tough. But maybe I would learn to just find pleasure in being alive.

Try it…

….and let me know.

Happiness always.

One response »

  1. Many things continue to keep me happy. My wife, my soulmate and I have been married 53+ years. It gives me great pleasure each morning to find she is okay and we are awarded yet one more day together. The second is my friend, new and old, on this blog. I am fortunate. I am blessed.

    Thank you for your post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

